keep your opinion to yourself

I feel like it is really hard to say that something is “good” or “bad” in terms of a creation. Like, a poem or song lyrics or a painting or sculpture or a story, something that someone has spent their time and energy on – who determines what good is and what bad is? What makes one thing good, but not another? Does your relationship with God matter? Does your relationship with the subject matter count for anything?

On tumblr, someone reblogged a really small thing I wrote and people responded and called it “shitty”, “rank” and once they visited my blog they said I sounded like “and insane 13 year old girl” who writes “middle school poetry” (which, if you saw the way i wrote in middle school, this is pretty far from it) And someone even made a sexual joke about me based on the poem.

When I saw this, I debated creating an account and responding to each and every one of them. I wanted to tell them they didnt know what writing means to me, what that small poem even was, and why they shouldn’t just say these things about someone they don’t even know. But I eventually decided against it, mostly because I was a little worried of what kind of responses I would even get, nor do I even know my way around that website.

Taste preferences towards poetry, and everything really, will differ from person to person. But to assume you can say someone else’s creation is good or bad completely takes away the story and steps that have been built, day after day, hour after hour, minute after minute, to write that poem, song, or create that art piece. Please, I urge you to think before you tear down those steps. If you don’t like something, that’s fine, but that doesn’t mean that something is bad or shitty. Our opinions are not the be all, end all of good and bad. They are our opinions and they matter, yes, but they do not determine another’s worth or the worth of something they have created.

If someone else has ever called something you have created bad, don’t listen. If you put your energy and time and heart into making something, don’t you dare listen when they tell you it is shitty. Keep creating. Keep being.

Leave a Reply

