Change

Recently I realize how my life is ever changing.  Change can be good or bad.  The bottom line, though, is change is often not easy for us to understand or accept.  This year has been full of difficult changes for me.  The most recent change came a few weeks ago when my sister announced that she was moving to Arizona.  It was not easy to hear this news because she had been away at school for the last several years and I missed her a lot.  She had just moved back to Long Beach last July, and it was good to have her close by again so we could spend some time together.  After the losses my family has suffered this year, the time together with love ones has taken on a new meaning.  I have always been close with my family, but I now I really understand how important they are in my life.  I have learned that I need to cherish every moment spent with the people I love.  For most of Spring break, we helped Nicole pack up her things and get her apartment ready to move out.  We tried to spend as much time as we could together before she had to leave last Sunday. It was a time full of mixed emotions for me.  I am happy for my sister as she starts this new chapter in her life, but it is hard to let her go again.  As I work on accepting this change, I know that I have to focus on the positive aspects of it.  Nicole assures me that she will come back often to visit, and that I can call her any time.  She told me that it will be a new place for me to visit and have some exciting adventures with her.  I miss her already, but I wish her everything good as she tries to make a new life for herself.  The change will be hard for me at first, but I know that all things happen for a reason.  I also know that in time all these changes in my life will shape me into a stronger, more compassionate person.

Leave a Reply

